Awards of Excellence Winners

Auto/Steel Partnership Announces Awards of Excellence Winners

October 25, 2022

Award Recipients Recognized for Contributions to Industrial Solutions

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – Thirty-one individuals, representing steel-producing companies, automakers and tier suppliers, were recognized today during the Award of Excellence presentation as part of the Technology Day 2022 event sponsored by Auto/Steel Partnership (A/SP) , at Lauren Manor Conference Center, Livonia, Mich.

“The peer-chosen Award of Excellence acknowledges project findings and results by honoring Auto/Steel Partnership members who have demonstrated outstanding contributions, leadership and innovation in the applications of emerging steels,” said Michael Davenport, Executive Director, Auto/Steel Partnership.

Award selections were based on A/SP project work conducted over the past year and voted on by the A/SP Joint Policy Council. Criteria include demonstrating technical expertise necessary to execute or significantly contribute to project results. It also honors those who have shown exemplary commitment to the aims of the Partnership.

Certificates and trophies were awarded to:

Individual Category

Honors an individual who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities and displays a deep commitment to A/SP project teams and the Partnership as a whole.

1. J. Norman Goan, General Motors Company
2. Zhenke (Kevin) Teng, General Motors Company
3. D. J. Zhou, Stellantis

Most Valuable Player Category

Honors a ‘behind the scenes’ individual who goes above and beyond    in his/her performance and contributes to a project and A/SP.

1. Hassan Ghassemi-Armaki, General Motors Company
2. Dean Kanelos, Nucor
3. Vincent Millioto, Martinrea
4. J. P. Singh, General Motors Company

Key Collaborator Category

Recognizes an outside resource (supplier) that is contracted by a Project Team for the outside resources’ valuable contributions to overcoming project challenges.

1. Michael Worswick, University of Waterloo

Project Team Category

Showcases a project team that has been collaborative and effective in providing solutions to pain points faced by automakers.

Joining Team, whose Project Team Members include:
1. Mario Alvarado, Ternium
2. Joe Beckham, Stellantis
3. John Carter, Toyota
4. Steven Cipriano, General Motors Company
5. Jeremy Coyne, Toyota
6. Mark Fistler, Stellantis
7. Hassan Ghassemi-Armaki, General Motors Company
8. Jiwong Ha, POSCO
9. Justin Hunt, Stellantis
10. Rick Johnson, Stellantis
11. Dean Kanelos, Nucor
12. Srinath Kistampally, Martinrea
13. Huaxin Li, General Motors Company
14. Ying Lu, General Motors Company
15. Bryan Macek, Stellantis
16. Eric McCarty, Auto/Steel Partnership
17. Vincent Millioto, Martinrea
18. Kate Namola, Toyota
19. Efrain Rodriguez, Ternium
20. Weiping Sun, Nucor
21. Zhenke (Kevin) Teng, General Motors Company
22. Kevin Ward, Stellantis
23. Tingting Zhang, General Motors Company


Auto/Steel Partnership Foundation (A/SP) is a non-profit research consortium of automakers, sheet steel producers and affiliate tier suppliers. For more than 35 years, A/SP members work to drive improvements from concept through realization in vehicles on the road today, as well as to support an educated workforce.